2017 Annual Juried Competition and Exhibition

Baxter St at CCNY is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2017 Annual Juried Photography Competition and an upcoming exhibition featuring the top three competition artists, juried by curator and art historian Andrianna Campbell. The three top winners are Keith O. Anderson, Res, and Qian Zhao.

Annual Juried Exhibition

Juried by Andrianna Campbell

Exhibition Dates: August 17 – September 8, 2017
Closing reception and slideshow: September 8, 2017 | 6 – 8 pm

Baxter St at CCNY is pleased to announce the results of the 2017 Annual Juried Competition. Juror Andrianna Campbell wrote this about the work submitted: “The photographs chosen play with the body, subjectivity and the place of both in relationship to photography. Some artists used analogue with an interest in the direct relationship of light while others address the fictions in both digital and analogue images. In all there were many great submissions, both the finalists and the honorable mentions engaged with the place of photography in our age.”

The exhibition of work by the three winners, Keith O. Anderson, Res, and Qian Zhao, will be on view from August 17th to September 8th, 2017. There will be a closing reception on September 8th with a screening in the backyard of work by the 15 Honorable Mentions listed below.

Honorable Mentions
Shay Arick
Leah Beeferman
Clint Colbert
Samantha Lynn Croteau
William Glaser
Juliana Halpert
Susan Rosenberg Jones
Dani Lessnau
Bollen Gilles Rie
Victor Rivera
Ryan Spencer
Caroline Tompkins
Anthony Urrea
Aaron Wax
Cristina Velásquez

About the Juror:

Andrianna Campbell is a doctoral candidate in the Department of Art History at the CUNY Graduate Center, where she specializes in American art in the modern and contemporary period. Her doctoral research focuses on Norman Lewis and Abstract Expressionism in the post-World War II period. Alongside her scholarly research, she is the author of essays and reviews on contemporary art for Artforum, Art in America, and Frieze. Campbell was currently the coeditor of Shift: A Graduate Journal of Visual and Material Culture from 2014-2016 and a 2016 special edition of the International Review of African American Artdedicated to Norman Lewis. She is the recipient of numerous fellowships and awards including the Dean K. Harrison Fellowship, the Preservation of American Modernists Award, the Library Fellowship from the American Philosophical Society, the Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship at the Dia Art Foundation, the Dissertation Writing Fellowship at the The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture for New York Public Library and and the CASVA Chester Dale Fellowship from 2016-2017. Campbell recently curated the exhibition Vanishing Points at James Cohan Gallery and is co-editor of the forthcoming journal Apricota. She serves on Baxter St at CCNY’s Art Advisory Board.

[ngg_images source=”galleries” container_ids=”85″ display_type=”photocrati-nextgen_basic_slideshow” gallery_width=”600″ cycle_effect=”fade” cycle_interval=”4″ show_thumbnail_link=”0″ thumbnail_link_text=”[Show thumbnails]” order_by=”sortorder” order_direction=”ASC” returns=”included” maximum_entity_count=”500″]